News:

Nitpicky? Hell yes.

Main Menu

Re: Know any good quotes?

Started by ForTheLoveOfAll, February 16, 2011, 02:23:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guardian85

QuoteAnd if there were a god, I think it very unlikely that he would have such an uneasy vanity as to be offended by those who doubt his existence.
  -Bertrand Russel-

"If scientist means 'not the dumbest motherfucker in the room,' I guess I'm a scientist, then."
-Unknown Smartass-

The Magic Pudding

Quote from: Tank on February 11, 2012, 06:47:00 PM
Quote from: DeterminedJuliet on February 11, 2012, 06:29:55 PM
Here's a fun fact: The word testicles comes from Latin testiculi meaning "little witnesses",  and to swear by one's testicles was an ancient form of oath. Hence the word "testify".
Would that make the Old and New Testament the Old and New Bollocks?

history_geek

Went on a random quote hunting after watching some YouTube vids and stumbled on these:

There is a set of religious, or rather moral, writings which teach that virtue is the certain road to happiness, and vice to misery in this world. A very wholesome and comfortable doctrine, and to which we have but one objection, namely, that it is not true.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/f/francois_fenelon.html#T64MpKxSrPFPxJIW.99

Nothing is more despicable than a professional talker who uses his words as a quack uses his remedies.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/f/francois_fenelon.html#T64MpKxSrPFPxJIW.99
(Am I the only one to think about WLC and any and all tv-evangelists?)

All wars are civil wars, because all men are brothers.

François de Salignac de la Mothe-Fénelon, more commonly known as François Fénelon (6 August 1651 – 7 January 1715), was a French Roman Catholic archbishop, theologian, poet and writer

On the note of that last one: