What do you make of Near death experiences/ out of body...

Started by none123, January 13, 2011, 06:02:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Achronos

Firstly I am not a scientist and so I'm not in any position to say, "Look, here are the details of the explanation." Of course there will be more scientific evidence (or should I say the more persuasive argument) that favors a materialist viewpoint, however it hasn't been proven nor disproven if a soul actually exists. The short answer is, we just don't know. Like I said, we have to view the arguments for and against it. What is more plausible? Is viewing the soul in the realm of science possible? Is it more of a metaphysical tendency?
"Faith is to believe what you do not see; the reward of this faith is to see what you believe."
- St. Augustine

LegendarySandwich

Quote from: "Achronos"Firstly I am not a scientist and so I'm not in any position to say, "Look, here are the details of the explanation." Of course there will be more scientific evidence (or should I say the more persuasive argument) that favors a materialist viewpoint, however it hasn't been proven nor disproven if a soul actually exists. The short answer is, we just don't know. Like I said, we have to view the arguments for and against it. What is more plausible? Is viewing the soul in the realm of science possible? Is it more of a metaphysical tendency?
You keeping saying to review the arguments for and against it, but I don't see any arguments for the existence of the soul.

Achronos

Let me ask you this question, you say there are no arguments for the existence of the soul, what leads you to this conclusion?
"Faith is to believe what you do not see; the reward of this faith is to see what you believe."
- St. Augustine

LegendarySandwich

Quote from: "Achronos"Let me ask you this question, you say there are no arguments for the existence of the soul, what leads you to this conclusion?