News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Watch Out When Driving

Started by Waski_the_Squirrel, July 17, 2016, 04:05:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Waski_the_Squirrel

In my town, Main Street is one block off a major highway: major by the standards of this part of the state.

So, I was walking up Main Street with the vague idea of having lunch. I got to the last intersection and looked left. There was a semi stopped out on the highway and the driver was frantically looking under all his wheels. Nearer by, I saw a little kid about age 2 wandering down the middle of the intersecting street, and he was sobbing. So, I was immediately scared for the kid.

I went running down the street toward the kid. Of course, he was scared of me, and I'm not good with kids at the best of times. He kept saying, "Daddy," and walking, but I couldn't get near him. So, I decided to chase after him because I'm more visible than a kid if any cars came along. In retrospect, that probably could have created problems of its own if the wrong person saw me.

Luckily, a woman pulled up, and he was willing to let her pick him up. We figured out where he lived because of the limited number of homes on Main Street. His grandmother opened the door. She had about four little kids in the apartment and said she had taken a shower and didn't know where he had gone.

So, I went on to the truck driver. He was in tears. One of my students had seen him from the grocery store, so she was trying to comfort him. He was glad the kid was all right, but in no shape to drive, and there sat the semi in the middle of the highway. A man from the gas station across the street came over and parked it out of the way for him.