News:

When one conveys certain things, particularly of such gravity, should one not then appropriately cite sources, authorities...

Main Menu

New to the forum!

Started by tchurch, April 25, 2012, 08:17:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tchurch

Hey everyone; my name is Torie and I'm a university student from Canada. I've had the benefit of being raised in a religiously neutral household, fully able to choose a religion for myself if I wanted or remain an atheist if it suited me better. Needless to say, I chose the latter.

I dabbled in Christianity for a month or so in my teen years after being dragged to a suspiciously compelling youth group by a friend (I can see why it could attract a lonely teen in need of guidance) but it never stuck; there were too many inconsistencies. I found some solace in prayer but soon realized it wasn't a conversation with a deity but an act of relaxation and reflection that I could easily practice without supernatural involvement. That realization set me on a track of skepticism and so far, there is no hell-fire in sight.

If there's a Bible Belt of Canada, I live in it. I deal with religious bigotry on a daily basis as a queer woman and I feel increasingly frustrated with it. Even my (public) university has a couple creationist science profs, although this is seen as a bit of an embarrassment for most of the students.

Now you know a bit about me. Talk to you all soon!

Tank

Hello Torie

We have Canadians here and lesbians. Now we have a Canadian lesbian! Is there no end to the 'win'!!!  ;D

Feel free  to add your unique perspectives to the collective. Resistance is futile!!!!

Thanks for making the effort to sign up and join in.

Welcome to HAF.

Regards
Chris

Notes for new members.
The Rules.

Users who comply with forum rules will graduate to full membership after 10 posts.
Till that time your ability to post is limited to the "Getting to Know You" section of the forum.