News:

In case of downtime/other tech emergencies, you can relatively quickly get in touch with Asmodean Prime by email.

Main Menu

Origins of Yahweh

Started by Asherah, March 21, 2012, 02:41:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Asherah

I've been reading up on this topic and, it seems that the Isrealites took the attributes of El and blended that with their god, Yahweh. So, the two some how became one. I don't really understand it. And, the Hebrew Bible tends to use El and Yahweh to refer to the same god. So, god (a.k.a. Yahweh and El) spawned Jesus.
As a scientist, I am hostile to fundamentalist religion because it actively debauches the scientific enterprise. It teaches us not to change our minds, and not to want to know exciting things that are available to be known. It subverts science and saps the intellect. - Dawkins

Too Few Lions

Quote from: Gawen on April 06, 2012, 01:22:40 PM
Interesting. I'll look into it a bit deeper. The next question would be, if El is the "most high" and Yahweh is the almost "most High", then who spawned Jesus?
I'd say Yahweh, as the polytheistic Israelites had become monotheistic Jews by then, and their previous worship of El, Baal or Asherah was something in their distant past. Many of the attributes of Yahweh derive from El, but quite a few also may derive from Baal, who was probably the god most similar to Yahweh (hence the Yahwistic writers of the Hebrew Bible appear to detest Baal more than any other deity), and maybe some from Asherah too, his possible one-time consort

Gawen