News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

Introduction Paranoia

Started by Nate J, March 14, 2012, 05:39:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nate J

Hello All,

I feel very uncomfortable giving introductions of any kind, but since this 10-post rule seems to make it a natural sort of first move, I figured I'd try it. There are so few reliable places to have intellectual conversations...

I also dislike background. But here is some. My name is Nate. I am a student of philosophy, the history of it, and special interest in early phenomenology. A misanthropic humanist--if you believe in such a thing. I became an atheist about a year ago, after being a dystheist, after being an existential Christian (Kierkegaard, Tillich and all), after being a non-denominational evangelical, Missouri Synod Lutheran, and Pentecostal in that order with a few relapses here and there. Unlike most atheists I know, epistemic concerns didn't factor into the process to any significant degree. I made the decision based on coherency, after realizing that I couldn't accept that the accounts with the strongest emphasis on coherency were sensitive enough to the phenomenon of imagination. I tend to be skeptical of applying probability too heavily to theory, and have a somewhat weird mental tension between "Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must remain silent" and strict instrumentalism.

And.. that's all I can think to say. Looking forward to talking with you all.

Buddy

Welcome to the forum, Nate! That is quite the transition!

Intros aren't all that special to me, Hi I'm *insert name her* and I am an atheist.  ;D

Other than philosophy, do you have any hobbies or pets?
Strange but not a stranger<br /><br />I love my car more than I love most people.

Nate J

Nice to meet you!