News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

A wild Fi appears!

Started by Fi, November 19, 2011, 05:55:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fi

Greeting pies! I'm Fi!

I'm a 20-year-old art student from rainy old Oregon, USA. I'm sure my deconversion story is nothing special, but here it is: I was raised Lutheran at the behest with my grandparents, and I hated it. I never felt anything when I prayed and I always felt like everything that came out of my mouth in Sunday School was lies (and some of it was, of course, to save face). I did a lot of holier-than-thou posturing to make up for my inner turmoil. It was sad and pathetic, like a small dog yapping at a cement mixer. In the rain.

The most distressing part was prayer. I have anxiety issues and always have, and sometimes the symptoms turn physical. I also have the least threatening immune system ever. I spent half my childhood throwing up and the other half wondering when I'd throw up again. As you might imagine, my pleas for healing were met with silence.

I was twelve when I really discovered the internet, and that was when I witnessed my first atheist-vs-christians debates. At first I was angry, and then... just reading these other people's arguments started to loosen the cracks in the wall Christianity had left around my mind. I didn't even participate, I just watched as other Christians made my arguments for me, and failed miserably. I realized I could not logically and objectively prove that God existed. I had no reason to hang on to this idea. It was illogical and all it was doing was weighing me down. Also the Christian god was a big jerk and I didn't want to go to his stupid jerk heaven anyway.

The walls crumbled. My world is so much bigger now, and while it's depressing sometimes (I really honestly feel bad for my religious friends who worry about me...), I have a much happier outlook on life.

So that's me. How are you guys? :D

Recusant