News:

When one conveys certain things, particularly of such gravity, should one not then appropriately cite sources, authorities...

Main Menu

How I became a theist.

Started by Bubblepot, January 21, 2011, 03:47:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bubblepot

I also have a de-conversion story. Some years ago I was a pretty hard-core atheist; probably the most hardcore atheist in the world. I'd read entirely through Richard Dawkins' "The God Delusion" more than once, studied various sciences and theories and, strange as it probably sounds, actually enjoyed memorizing formulas of quantum physics and reading through dictionaries to memorize the vocab. (Still do actually)

I was born and raised atheist, lived and grew up in a pretty atheist family, was very open to all kinds of science etc.

So what was it that de-converted me from atheism? Was it the fact that the more I studied, desperately clawing for just one piece of observable evidence for evolution, the more I was disappointed and the theory was revealed to be false? Was it the fact that in many debates I observed there were always those painful evangelical arguments (eg. ID) that gave me an uncomfortable feeling at the back of my mind, which I would at first ignore and forget about, until one day I began to really think- is there something more? No and no.