News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

Any Engineers Here?

Started by Godless, September 22, 2010, 05:38:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Godless

Is anyone here an engineer? More specifically, is anyone a computer or electrical engineer? As of now, I'm majoring in computer engineering but I've been considering switching to electrical engineering, because C++ is just a struggle for me and it doesn't really seem like I enjoy programming as much as I thought I did. At this point, it's computer engineering vs. electrical engineering, which means programming vs. circuits.

Tank

I started out as an draughtsman, then electronics engineer and now I do computers. If you like abstract stick with computing, if you like practical stick with electronics. The market has lots of computer engineers but less electrical/electronics engineers. If you like electrics/electronics and are good at it go with it.
If religions were TV channels atheism is turning the TV off.
"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett
Remember, your inability to grasp science is not a valid argument against it.

Asmodean

Mechatronics with the ambitions of Systems Engineering here.

In a lot of electroengineering, you will have to do some programming since micro controllers, which are EVERYWHERE, won't do squat by themselves :-P

I can give you a nice piece of advise that works for me though: learning programming languages is like learning foreign languages. The more you use it, the faster you get better and the better you get.
Quote from: Ecurb Noselrub on July 25, 2013, 08:18:52 PM
In Asmo's grey lump,
wrath and dark clouds gather force.
Luxembourg trembles.

KDbeads

Degreed Ceramic Engineer, but landed in specialty packaging engineering/design