News:

Departing the Vacuousness

Main Menu

does the American media hate atheists?

Started by butitjustis, December 01, 2009, 07:38:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

butitjustis

Hi all. I'm brand new to this forum, so nice to meet everyone!
I'm a student studying at NYU's journalism department and a pretty dedicated atheist.
currently I'm working on an assignment for class about how atheists are presented in the media, and I wanted to know what you guys think.
Mainly, how do you think the American media has been at shaping society's perception of atheists?
Do you think atheists are misrepresented, unfairly sensationalized, or ignored?
I read a couple of news articles that seem to show a very strong christian bias.
and also, do you think the lnternet has been helping you connect with fellow atheists? take this forum for example. has the support you have gotten from other members helped you find your voice as an atheist?  
anything you wanna say that's related would be awesome. thanks! hope this isn't too boring a topic!

Whitney

I think it depends on what media and who is covering the story.  We've had surprisingly fair coverage of atheist/freethought activites here in Dallas but also some less than favorable coverage from other media sources (namely those run and paid for by Christian groups).

I found the ad that showed below your post to be very related to your OP:

LoneMateria

I got the same add too Whitney.  Also the treatment given to atheists just depends on the news organization.  If, for example, fox news were to run a story about atheists they will spin it (lol or fabricate it) to make atheists look like unpatriotic, immoral, devils who want to kill America.