News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Yet another (and peculiar) example of evolution

Started by Guardian85, April 08, 2012, 10:27:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guardian85

Scientists have discovered a bacteria that has evolved the ability to survive in consentrated hairspray.
http://www.science20.com/news_articles/microbacterium_hatanonis_bacteria_contaminate_hairspray

QuoteScientists in Japan have discovered a new species of bacteria, Microbacterium hatanonis, that can live in hairspray, according to the results of a study published in the March issue of the International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology.

One more weird nail in the creationist coffin.

"If scientist means 'not the dumbest motherfucker in the room,' I guess I'm a scientist, then."
-Unknown Smartass-

Tank

Interesting bit info. The article dates back to March 2008 but it's quoted quite a few times since them.
If religions were TV channels atheism is turning the TV off.
"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett
Remember, your inability to grasp science is not a valid argument against it.

Sweetdeath

Oh wow!!
I'll think twice before using hair spray. I use  styling wax. xD

This is really interesting though.
Law 35- "You got to go with what works." - Robin Lefler

Wiggum:"You have that much faith in me, Homer?"
Homer:"No! Faith is what you have in things that don't exist. Your awesomeness is real."

"I was thinking that perhaps this thing called God does not exist. Because He cannot save any one of us. No matter how we pray, He doesn't mend our wounds.

xSilverPhinx