I was told not to offer assistance to another student in my class.

Started by highway17, September 14, 2011, 03:56:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

highway17

I'm taking a Multimedia Apps class in my senior year in high school, and another student sitting next to me had a problem with where to save his project. I'm a assistant network administrator at my high school during my off periods, so I know quite a bit about how the school's network is configured, and how each computer is set up. I'm also helping teachers with their own computer problems.

Anyway, I was explaining to the student that every student has a set amount of space to save to on the server (the server being a remote location where each student has 16MB of space to save things.) and that they needed to save the project on the desktop.

The teacher, standing right there, said to me (but didn't look at me) "um, (my name), what is the um...issue." I explained the scenario.

She said "Alright......you are not to help others, you are to just look at them and say "I cannot help you."

To be frank, I was quite offended, I looked at her and said "There's no way that I'm just going to look at somebody and say that I can't help them, it is insulting to me, and it is insulting to the person I'm helping. It doesn't help them, and they just waste more time waiting for an answer than if I already know the answer and can assist them."

She said nothing, and walked away to help another student.

Was I justified in helping the student, and was my response to her ridiculous command justified?  Many students who have taken a class with this particular teacher have said she's a bitch.

Recusant