News:

There is also the shroud of turin, which verifies Jesus in a new way than other evidences.

Main Menu

Asperger's Syndrome?

Started by Ultima22689, December 06, 2009, 03:21:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ultima22689

So I'm no newbie when it comes to mental disorders, I have ADD, Bi-polar and schizo-effective but I was recently told in the most embarrassing manner (by a professor in class diagnosing me :( ) that I may have Aspergers syndrome and I was told that it was a form of autism, so I came home all full of skepticism and looked up the symptoms and red flags for diagnosis and there were 15, 13 of those flags applied to me it was kind of freaky it read more like a brief outline of my childhood than a diagnosis list. Now I don't think any less of people who are autistic but this has disturbed me quite a bit that  I could and likely are autistic or a form of it rather. So should I got get a proper diagnosis? Is Aspergers something I should worry about? Someone also mentioned to me getting benefits because of it but I don't know much about that, any advice would be appreciated.

AlP

First of all, does the professor have credibility when it comes to determining that you have asperger syndrome? If he or she is in a psychology professor then maybe. If he or she is a math professor then not so much. I would get it diagnosed if not knowing for sure is going to bother you or if you will take action based on the assumption that you have asperger syndrome. Also consider whether it is actually harmful. If it isn't causing persistently harmful thoughts, feelings or actions then it isn't really a disorder.