News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Hello I'm not an atheist, but I do have a question.

Started by Mark_W, January 15, 2007, 01:30:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark_W

What do atheists think about the lofty moral ideals (the "love your enemies" variety) that Gandhi and his doctrine of nonviolence advanced? I've never heard of an atheist who was also a proponent of absolute nonviolence, but I don't discount it as a possibility.

ImpaledSkier

...because atheists are all the same, just like every christian holds the same view about nonviolence...

why would you think an atheist could not be a proponent of absolute nonviolence?

Personally, as it always is, non violence would be something to shoot for, but will not work unless that moral goal is practiced by everyone. I am not a proponent of violence, but accepted that this is the world.
"Heaven's not a place that you go when you die, it's that moment in life when you actually feel alive. So live for the moment." -The Spill Canvas

Mark_W

When you say "...but will not work unless that moral goal is practiced by everyone. I am not a proponent of violence, but accepted that this is the world."...The thing is, when everyone is good enough, then we will no longer need nonviolence, this is precisely why we use nonviolence now.

Whitney

Hi Mark....you already know my view.

Mark_W

Hi laetusatheos, thanks for your comments. I used the link from the bottom of one of your posts at the other forum, which led me here, to start my shorter lived nonviolence crusade.
have a good day

ImpaledSkier

QuoteThe thing is, when everyone is good enough, then we will no longer need nonviolence, this is precisely why we use nonviolence now.

Uhmmm...you're going to have to elaborate that one to me, please. I have no idea what you mean by that. Why would we not practice nonviolence?