News:

Look, I haven't mentioned Zeus, Buddah, or some religion.

Main Menu

Belief about things like God and Atheism

Started by Me_Be, February 29, 2024, 10:12:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Me_Be

Hello, as a newbie here. I would just like to start my introspection off by asking other forum users one genuine question.

Who told you you are an Atheist?

And do you just believe you are an Atheist without question.
''It's no coincidence that man's best friend cannot talk''

"she was completely whole
and yet never fully complete"
― Maquita Donyel Irvin

Asmodean

Welcome!

I think it was my gran, who put the word to the concept. Prior to that, I lived into double digits simply not believing in gods, and "that was that," without ever needing a word for it. (Religion "never" really came up in the everyday life in our household or immediate community, and while I was aware of it, my understanding of it was that of "just something you did for Christmas," rather than something you lived by)

I do not believe that I am an Atheist as such. It works like this;

I do not believe in gods of humanity. (It is "reasonably" absolute, as positions go, so you could also think of me as "gnostic" in many situations. For instance, I don't believe in Horus, but I also disbelieve that Horus is or was an actual divine being. It may not seem like it, but those are two distinct thoughts.)

In any case, for the above reason, you could describe me as [an] atheist. If I were to describe myself, I "coined" (by virtue of not having come across it somewhere else prior) the term "never-theist" for that - meaning that I was born a "blank slate," and have not filled any of it with the divine. in that regard, I have remained "at default settings," though beyond certain point, consciously so.