News:

Look, I haven't mentioned Zeus, Buddah, or some religion.

Main Menu

Probability of life.

Started by zorkan, November 05, 2023, 03:26:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zorkan

The Vital Question by Nick Lane was the one that really blew my mind.
Yes, there is a black hole in biology.

Now I'm not a scientist in any field, but I can still speculate.
We live in a quantum universe which runs on probability.
If I knew how many particles are contained in it I could maybe come up with the approximate chance of live evolving.
Let's suppose it contains 10^100 particles in some sort of random dance, then the probability of life beginning to evolve anywhere would be 1/(10^100).
If that's anywhere near true then SETI might as well close.

Tank

Hi split this topic off as it's worthy of its own thread and a derail to the other one :)
If religions were TV channels atheism is turning the TV off.
"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett
Remember, your inability to grasp science is not a valid argument against it.

Dark Lightning

The probability of life in this universe is 1.

Tank

"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett

zorkan

Just seen this has been taken off another thread.
Big question this and it sounds ridiculous to think it doesn't.
But does life actually exist?
Do people exist?
Only humans have enough consciousness to ask questions about life and the universe.
The Anthropic Principle will drive you mad.
It occupied Stephen Hawking's mind for decades.

But something must exist, and it's what we call consciousness and it's still a mystery.