News:

Nitpicky? Hell yes.

Main Menu

I'm coming out as an atheist.

Started by Hector Valdez, April 20, 2012, 01:10:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amicale

Great point, Tank. I've had a lot of experience getting to know/teaching people in Saudi Arabia, and they made it very clear to me that not only are they required to worship Allah, they're required to venerate/nearly worship their King, their head of state. Under no circumstances would they speak out against him or the rest of their government, even though I wasn't recording anything they were saying. They went under the assumption that anything they said and did online could and would be used against them by their own government. As far as they were concerned, atheists do not exist in that country, and neither do gay people. And if they do, they must keep their mouths shut if they'd like to continue living with their families in relative peace.

Once I heard that, I was profoundly reminded of how damned lucky I am to live in the culture I do.

"Our lives are not our own. From womb to tomb we are bound to others. By every crime and act of kindness we birth our future." - Cloud Atlas

"To live in the hearts of those we leave behind is to never die." -Carl Sagan

Hector Valdez

Ali

Agreed Tank.  Whenever I hear Americans seriously bagging on the US, I always think "If things are so shitty here, isn't that our own fault and shouldn't we be doing something to fix it?"  Certainly the US isn't perfect, but the "downside" of living in a democracy is that sometimes you're in the minority, and that sucks.  But it's better than having no say at all. 

Firebird

Quote from: Tank on May 01, 2012, 07:59:20 AM