News:

In case of downtime/other tech emergencies, you can relatively quickly get in touch with Asmodean Prime by email.

Main Menu

Forum Stats

Started by Tank, November 13, 2011, 03:37:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tank

Ok, I admit it I'm a geek  ;D

I do stats and such for a living so I've started doing some stats on the site.

The chart below details the number of new members starting on a given day from 7 days after the site moved to the new software, 4th May 2011, until yesterday,12th Nov 2011.

The dot shows the absolute value for a given day.

The red line shows the 7 Day Rolling Average (7DRA) which is the average of the day and the 6 preceding days. This gives a smoother slightly more interpretive value without loosing too much resolution.

The chart effectively shows the number of spammer accounts created on a given day as we have very few real new members join, less than one a day I would estimate. The peak day value was 1,694 on the 11th Aug 2011 with the peak 7DRA of 1,446 occurring a few days later on the 15th August 2011.

The astonishing growth of spammers account creation occurred between the 5th and 11th of August when the daily figure went from 120 to 1,694. I don't know why this happened but I would guess that some spam bots got their claws into the forum.

I'll add to this thread as and when I can be bothered but at least on a monthly basis  ;D
If religions were TV channels atheism is turning the TV off.
"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett
Remember, your inability to grasp science is not a valid argument against it.

OldGit

It's interesting, Tank, especially the spike.  Back in '08 there was an attack like that on the Venganza forum, perhaps by christians, which effectively nobbled it for a while.  I wonder if that was a similar attempt.

Tank