News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

politics and religion

Started by imaginaryfriendless, July 27, 2016, 06:01:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

imaginaryfriendless

Greetings, my hopefully happy friends.
     My name is Jamie, and I'd love to say it's great to be here, but this time I am reserving judgment.  Fool me once...

Im 50 years old, recently retired as an airline pilot. Father of 3 grown children, husband to an amazing wife. Besides civilian aviation I served as a pilot in the united states air force for 8 years, and as a deputy sheriff here in my native Texas, just as a bucket list item. The department worked with my airline schedule for 8 years.  I have a masters degree in herpetology, of all things. Long story.

I've been an atheist since the age of 12 or so. Raised a laid-back methodist, it wasn't long before the lack of logic, much less proof, caused me to question religion.

Ive never sought out other atheists before about 2 weeks ago. I came across the atheist forum, and decided to join to see what it was like. I spent most of a day there, made a number of interesting new friends,  and was very satisfied with my new peer group.

Then I made some offhand comment that let them know I was a republican conservative.  Within minutes the judgement and hatred and abuse reached epic heights...it was amazing. I told them goodbye and left the forum.

I had never realized atheism was political,  nor had I realized it was predominantly liberal. I just wanted to have conversations without an imaginary friend present...that's it!

So, against my better judgment,  here I am at another forum.

So...hi guys!
Jamie

98% of us will die, at some point in our lives.

Dave

Greetings, IF, let's hope you have a better experience here!