News:

In case of downtime/other tech emergencies, you can relatively quickly get in touch with Asmodean Prime by email.

Main Menu

Your conversion to atheism

Started by xXxWashburnxXx, January 26, 2012, 11:58:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xXxWashburnxXx

I am new to atheism, and my story is probably not that unusual, but I want to hear how some of you came to atheism.
I was once a hardcore conservative christian, studied the bible often, but last year I began to have some thoughts about the religion, what it means, promotes, the values it holds important and things of that nature. I began to question how a loving, compassionate god could justify, and in some cases order his followers to commit genocide, how any loving, compassionate god could allow, in modern times, extremist groups to continue to commit genocide because people don't follow the extremist's religion (as they see it) to a T, instead of just showing himself and ordering them to stop or proving their religion wrong (depending on the religion and god). I wondered why a loving, compassionate god would want homosexuals to be killed for something they have no choice in, or why a loving, compassionate god would want women to be killed because they weren't virgins on their wedding day, or how any of these things that didn't even really need to be justified could be by this loving, compassionate god more or less murdering his hybrid human/god son. Things like this began to cease to make sense once I started to form my own political thoughts and ideas and after a while I just decided that there could be no such thing as a loving, compassionate god.
Evolution is JUST a theory. Ya know, like gravity!

Gawen

Well, I never converted. I was born an atheist (just like everyone else) and never believed any of it...even through the first 17 years of my life as a Presbyterian. There are some interesting stories here, though.