News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Being an atheist mom....

Started by Asherah, April 08, 2012, 03:02:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Asherah

Hey Everyone,

So, I've been trying to decide lately how to make the switch. I'm going to go from telling my kids Jesus is God to saying that Jesus was just a man. So, I really don't know what to say. Should I not say anything until they ask? then, just answer honestly? Or should I just say what I think flat out? Or should I just get their minds thinking by saying "Not everyone believes Jesus was god and resurrected. Some people think that's just a story, kinda like Santa." And, then just let them think on that....maybe....I don't know. Any suggestions?

Thanks!!

EDIT: My kids are 5 and 3
As a scientist, I am hostile to fundamentalist religion because it actively debauches the scientific enterprise. It teaches us not to change our minds, and not to want to know exciting things that are available to be known. It subverts science and saps the intellect. - Dawkins

Sweetdeath

I mean, that's really young... How religious can a child be?
(gosh, that frightens me.)

Anyway, cant you stop talking about religious crap like jesus myth around them or is it that bad where you seriously have to explain it?

If so, i suppose you can tell them it is a myth/story, much like greek, Norse, cinderella..etc
Don't mean to come off rude, but it is hard to fathom a three year whom is religious.
Law 35- "You got to go with what works." - Robin Lefler

Wiggum:"You have that much faith in me, Homer?"
Homer:"No! Faith is what you have in things that don't exist. Your awesomeness is real."

"I was thinking that perhaps this thing called God does not exist. Because He cannot save any one of us. No matter how we pray, He doesn't mend our wounds.

John_5.0