News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Your conversion to atheism

Started by xXxWashburnxXx, January 26, 2012, 11:58:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Amicale

Quote from: Jimmy on March 25, 2012, 07:32:06 PM
Quote from: BooksCatsEtc on March 24, 2012, 07:39:16 PM
Quote from: Jimmy on March 24, 2012, 06:55:44 PM
I asked too many questions!!!   :D No one had a satisfying answer  :'( , well at least my parents, relatives, and church didn't.

Yep.  Nothing made sense, and the more I studied the less sense it made.  I was told I would understand . . . eventually . . . when I was older.  And I guess I did, tho not in the way I was intended to.  I read the bible front to back and understood that as a collection of moral fables went it was no worse than most, but not really any better either.  As a practical guide to life it had several good points that could also be found in other religions or secular philosophies, and a whole lot of bullshit.  Which I'm not condemning either the bible or its compliers for, that's generally how it goes with old stories.  But I'm supposed to be accepting this as literally true (which was way I was taught) and for modern day use?  No.

Quote. . .  if there is a God, then it at most, far removed from personal matters.

That's pretty much where I'm at.  There may well be a god, for all I know or can know, but I seriously doubt the various guesses of humans have any resemblence the possible actualifty, and the Xtian god seems to me particularly improbable with its aggressively human slant.

Exactly!! Even if there IS one, I'm sure it's not biased in favor of humans or that any of the religions are "right" about the characteristics that being may have; or how it behave toward us.