News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

Strongest argument for atheism?

Started by yodachoda, December 24, 2011, 04:16:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yodachoda

Hey guys, I'm 24 years old, became atheist a few months ago.  I've been agnostic for most of my life (but leaning toward theism), but raised in a Christian family.  Anyway, why did you become an atheist? 

For me, I think evolution is by far the strongest thing in favor of atheism.  I'm a biology student, and after learning about how genetics work, and how DNA molecules behave during sexual reproduction, it suddenly became much more plausible and believable, in my mind, that purely natural processes could turn a self replicating molecule into all life we see today.  In fact, after taking a genetics class, I realized that it's impossible for evolution to not occur, and evolution is constantly occurring today on Earth.  I have faith that molecules following chemical and physical laws were required to turn regular molecules into self-replicating molecules, and I have faith that physicists will eventually discover how the Big Bang occurred. 

I think those who think evolution and God are both true at the same time are in denial or don't properly understand evolution.  By God I mean a personal God and not a deistic God btw.  Anyway, why did you guys become atheists? 

Asmodean

There is a thread or three floating about with our variably tragic life stories.

I was born atheist and it never changed, it's really that simple.

As for the title question, is religion not reason enough to turn atheist?
Quote from: Ecurb Noselrub on July 25, 2013, 08:18:52 PM
In Asmo's grey lump,
wrath and dark clouds gather force.
Luxembourg trembles.

Whitney