News:

There is also the shroud of turin, which verifies Jesus in a new way than other evidences.

Main Menu

Struggling to Find An Identity

Started by Twentythree, March 21, 2011, 09:25:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twentythree

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting to a site like this. I had considered for a long time that by joining a forum like this, I was helping to form a religion. To claim atheism actually forces you into sort of an anti theology, it is nonetheless a system of beliefs based on partial facts and therefore should be considered a religion in itself. That is where the problem lies. You see I am not opposed to the possibility of a god or gods or even supernatural phenomenon.  The truth is that we can only comprehend reality up to the point that our evolved consciousness will allow us to perceive it. It is possible that nature and reality may be for more expansive than we are even logically capable of comprehending. Logic in itself has evolved and therefore its purpose is rooted in the laws of life and natural selection that have coalesced in this space time plane, in this universe, on this tiny planet. Our understanding of understanding is still so infantile that any claims to truly “know” anything can be easily disputed and are confounded and lost in our own inability to separate our own conscious experience from reality. It can be argued both ways that reality exists outside of our perception, or that our perception generates reality or at least our perceived version of reality. I am getting beyond the point here though. I am anti religion, I am against any group of people claiming that the “know” anything about the nature of reality. However, I identify more with the free thinking models and at least the prerequisite of scientific empirical evidence that drives a majority of atheistic argument. Therefore I find myself here, not in order to fuel a religion but to help support and join in the collective education of a race still s