News:

Actually sport it is a narrative

Main Menu

University Degree?

Started by Alexander, February 28, 2011, 08:46:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shy

Oh no Tristan Jay, I'm under that impression right now. My biggest fear was not having experience to get a job, but any degree maybe something to fallback on. Before I started I didn't even have a GED, so I would think I would have to be better off....I hope.  :-[

Tristan Jay

Hey Shy, I hope I didn't alarm you with my comments.  I am proud that I got my degree, and even more so given some facts I've learned at some point last week.  There's a little bit of bitterness that I can't make it work for me, and bewilderment about the impression that the world passed me by in some sense and I didn't notice it happening.

One motivating impulse is the desire to put the word out to people so they have warning to keep an eye on real-world expectations, something that I admit I have difficulty with at times.  I hope to help others avoid the disappointment and disillusionment I felt and feel.

I'm not completely without hope, mind.  There is a major factor that complicates my life, which I only recently become more and more aware of how difficult it has been making life for me.  I have ADD (possibly among other things), and it was explained at a seminar I attended people with this have a shorter attention span than early grade school children.  It was also mentioned that it's a very small percentage that manage to complete a college degree (hence my pride in pulling it off).  It makes sense, though.  Given how difficult navigating the curriculum, setting the small goals to reach the larger goals, maintaining the persistence needed to follow through all the way.  Life in general has been very difficult with this much trouble focusing and maintaining my concentration.

Abletony

Quote from: Alexander on February 28, 2011, 08:46:20 AM
What degrees/qualifications have you all got?