News:

Nitpicky? Hell yes.

Main Menu

Mere Christianity

Started by dgmort19, February 11, 2011, 11:24:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AnimatedDirt

Quote from: "Davin"Doesn't sound that ridiculous to me, did not Jesus heal lepers? Didn't Jesus raise people from the dead? Didn't Jesus feed the masses? If you think those kinds of things are ridiculous, then you must think Jesus was pretty ridiculous as well. The things I mentioned were not logically impossible, and I have a high degree of confidence in science to solve the problems as it has solved a great amount of problems already.
The "fact" that Jesus did these things is amazing proof.  These cures were not carried out as we do cures for disease now.  A person does not get cured from leprosy from one moment to the next, yet the Biblical acct. states as much.  But we are back to you and others like you that cannot regard these ancient texts as true or even remotely true.  Science can and will solve many of these problems.
Quote from: "Davin"While the things I mentioned may not be a miraculous over night thing, they are not logically impossible, one day we may wake up and see one of those things has been achieved. And all the while god seems to have left the "miracles" to be accomplished by man.
You easily disregard that this was achieved 2000 years ago.

In 1905, Einstein wrote some papers;
"Scientists call 1905 Albert Einstein's annus mirabilis â€" his year of miracles."
From this article.  Albert Einstein's Year of Miracles: Light Theory
Now, just because we fully understand that Einstein was right and in the face of orthodox physics of the day, does that make his discovery and work any less "miraculous" today?
Does the fact that the Wright Bros. having flown the first airplane in 1903 make it any less amazing and miraculous because today we are able to fly back and forth from space?