News:

Look, I haven't mentioned Zeus, Buddah, or some religion.

Main Menu

TSA Love 'em, hate 'em, just don't care?

Started by McQ, November 20, 2010, 06:35:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sophus

How do you suppose this guy's lawyer will counter the "it's your choice to fly" argument? That it's a suspicionless search?
‎"Christian doesn't necessarily just mean good. It just means better." - John Oliver

McQ

Quote from: "Sophus"How do you suppose this guy's lawyer will counter the "it's your choice to fly" argument? That it's a suspicionless search?

I'm certain a good attorney, or team of attorneys, can make the case that flying as a mode of transportation in the 20th and 21st Centuries, is so common, and so absolutely necessary for business travel, that it is unreasonable to make the assumption that one need not fly.

There are a lot of ways to approach this , I'm sure, and I'm no lawyer, but Pistole's statement can be shown to be unreasonable at best. I just wish more people were actively protesting this. We need a huge fucking rally on the Mall in D.C.. This really scares me.

And the new memo that has purportedly been issued within the DHS is ten times more frightening, if true (I have't seen it yet, so I'm only going on early reports of it). It is reported to have the FULL backing of the President, and essentially says that anyone who objects to, or who protests the new TSA rules can be considered a Domestic Extremist and a threat to security.

Wanna know the irony in that? Here it is, from my perspective:

Say I don't like these fucked up TSA rules, because I know they violate my 4th Amendment rights (I don't, and they do).

So, I decide to voice my opinion on it, as I have done. Maybe I even stage a peaceful, legal, silent protest with a sign (as some very brave people have done already). I haven't done that, but it's legal, of course.