News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Why Are There Not More Atheists ,???

Started by Godfree, August 31, 2010, 04:57:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Godfree

The science has been there to prove evolution , the age of the earth etc for years now .
And yet places like America are still entrenched in the dark ages of superstition and religion.
The world is still in most parts lost in illusion , floundering in the dark.
How can this be ,?? is religion so big and powerful we can't stop it,??
Are we the Atheists just not stepping up to the plate and letting rip,??
What do we have to do to get through to these people.?
Do we need to form our own political party and lobby to have the laws changed,?
Web sites like this one are certainly a step in the right direction.
I have been doing this Atheist blog thing for about 6 years and have found little support or agreement on any of the sites. I tried expressing my Atheism on the dating sites , and it didn't get me many dates. Atheists are still seen by most societies as extremists,
and are not really welcomed by main stream society.
What can we do to change this.???

Whitney

From what I have read gen y is practically 50 percent non-religious and the overall percentage of non-religious/atheist people in america is growing quickly too

I don't really see why evolution or the age of the earth should make anyone an atheist but from my experience almost anyone who has made it through college in the last 10 years knows that evolution is valid and the earth is really really old.

All we can do is be ourselves and calmly try to confront those who carry prejudices.

As fro laws...the ACLU and Secular Coalition seem to be doing a pretty good job of combatting areas of the law that need to be brought into public attention.  However, I don't necessarily think there are many laws I'd put at the top of my to do list.