News:

Actually sport it is a narrative

Main Menu

So confused

Started by rutledj, June 05, 2010, 01:21:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rutledj

Hi,

Newbie here. I've been through the gamut of Christianity (being "saved", baptized, and born again). Now that I've reached the ripe old age of 52 I'm starting to question everything again. My wife is a devout Christian. If she knew I even had doubts she would probably have a meltdown:)

Every time I hear people say that God has spoken to them I just assume it must be their conscious. I hear that inner voice all the time but I never think it is God. If people praise God when great things happen, why don't they praise him when bad things happen. Didn't he cause bad things also.

I've been out of work for 6 months now and people always tell me they are praying for me (and I thank them) but I really believe that we are the choices we make in life. I made the choice to be so enthralled in my work that I didn't keep up with the latest technology. Now I can't get a job (I'm a programmer you see). I don't blame God or expect him to get me a job. But I guess I want to have hope that someone else is in charge so I don't have to take all the blame.

I'm not super smart and can't reason well enough to debate the existence of God. I just know I have never personally experienced a God moment nor have I ever felt like God spoke to me.

I hope I'm wrong and there actually is a God and a heaven where I can see my parents, sister, and friends again but I don't deep down really believe that. I don't have the heart (or balls) to tell anyone I know how I really feel. What if I'm wrong? I wish I had the conviction to live one way or the other.

Just letting off stress.

Thanks
Rut

Davin