News:

In case of downtime/other tech emergencies, you can relatively quickly get in touch with Asmodean Prime by email.

Main Menu

Hiya! Another newbie....

Started by nomadicmom, April 19, 2010, 06:59:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nomadicmom

Hello! My name is Emily. I am a recent atheist, was agnostic for a few years, before going all the way! I just recently outed myself to a few people, including my fundie husband. We are currently working through our differences and figuring out where to go from here. We also have 2 children. I am glad to find a parenting section on an atheist forum!!

I doubted my faith for a looong time,  but just figured I was being tested. I was a youth pastor in Alabama at a very evangelical type church and that's when I realized I was not a christian. The teens would ask me questions I could not answer. The answers I found, were a joke. It was then I stepped down and started unraveling the truth. A few years later I began to be honest with myself and am working on honesty to those around me who have known me as a christian for many many years.

Look forward to posting more and getting known on the forum!
Emily

All flavor.... no bite.

Davin

Always question all authorities because the authority you don't question is the most dangerous... except me, never question me.

joeactor

Nice to meet you, Emily.  Welcome.

Keep those lines of communication with your husband going.
It is possible to "agree to disagree", and who knows... maybe he'll meet you half-way.

Enjoy,
JoeActor

elliebean

Hello and welcome, Emily!

Nice to meet yet another fellow former fundie!  :D
[size=150]â€"Ellie [/size]
You can’t lie to yourself. If you do you’ve only fooled a deluded person and where’s the victory in that?â€"Ricky Gervais

SSY

Welcome, it must be a difficult situation you find yourself in, but take heart, I know a few couples who have wildly differing religions and it works for them.