News:

Departing the Vacuousness

Main Menu

religions do they cause more problems than they solve?

Started by matthew12, April 22, 2010, 10:17:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matthew12

Hello

Basically i have been studying various religions for a couple of months now and while they have not changed my views on being an athiest i cannot understand why a lot of other athiests i know believe that religions are wrong some even say evil.
 I cannot understand this i just cant see many reasons people hold this belief to me personaly they havent casued a lot of problems in the world, a lot of people will just jump to the conclusion of religions casue wars, but do they? I dont think so i think some radical peoples will use religon as a sort of scape goat to justify there actions. But in the religious texts ive read these include the bible, koran and hindu texts such as vedas ect ect, none of these condem killing in any way (and especially none have any violent belifes in what to do with people that dont belive in there religion)
 So i think on a personal level that religions are good, they offer people hope, condolance, solace, peace of mind, community and support not to mention the vast amounts of money the varyous religious orginisations give to charitys.
 I do understand religion is abused by some people. But on a whole i think they are a great part of our culture and people should bear less hostility towards orginized religions.

So whats your opinion? Do you think religions are constructive or destructive?

Dretlin

Hey Matthew12, I would like to briefly tackle your points,

Quote from: "matthew12"Hello
Basically i have been studying various religions for a couple of months now and while they have not changed my views on being an athiest i cannot understand why a lot of other athiests i know believe that religions are wrong some even say evil.