News:

Actually sport it is a narrative

Main Menu

In a bad spot

Started by NearBr0ken, December 22, 2008, 06:56:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NearBr0ken

Over the past few days I've been thinking about how much better my life could be if only God were real.  It would instantly solve a lot of my problems.  I'm a college student, so I live on campus five days a week and go back home on the weekends and breaks.  My parents know that I'm an atheist but my 9 year old brother doesn't.  Needless to say, my parents have already warned me about the consequences of influencing my little brother saying that I "haven't yet seen their wrath" and that they won't "save my soul over his".  This brings some unwanted strains to our relationships.  I have to remain true to what I know is the truth while eating their food and sleeping in their house because the situation I'm currently in provides the best atmosphere for focusing on my education and I don't want to lose that.  Everything from tucking my brother into bed at night to saying grace before dinner becomes an issue.  And this entire time I know that if my brother comes to them with any questions about why I don't pray anymore or the like, I'm out of the house.  I've gotten to the point where if he asks me a question I just say "Go ask mom or dad."  Even that raises moral questions because I am intentionally decieving him and I feel terrible for it.  I'm getting out of the house as soon as I possibly can.  I hate it here, but they're family nonetheless.

Wraitchel

That sounds very stressful. I hope you can get out on your own soon. I think you will be much happier when you can be yourself at home.

crocofish