News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

Bad habits

Started by MarcusA, April 25, 2023, 03:29:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MarcusA

In heaven, all the interesting people are missing. - Friedrich Nietzsche
This user has been banned for spamming the forum.

MarcusA

I have a bad habit of swearing in inappropriate places. Christ, I swear like a sailor all the fuckin' time. I try to cut it out around women and children, but who knows where children might be lurking? As for women, equal rights means not being precious.

MarcusA

I am a Smokemon, not exactly cute like Pikachu.

MarcusA

I am a soldier without any luck and a soldier needs luck.

Icarus

Marcus, if it is any consolation, I too am sometimes given over to using words that are not appropriate in church.

On the one hand I believe that the use of profanity is a sign of cultural under developement. On the other hand it is often useful for the purpose of unloading ones frustrations.

MarcusA

Colourful language adds flavour.

Asmodean

For someone who does know how to turn a phrase, I too can be on the crude side of colourful at all the inopportune moments. I'd like to say that there is always a plan behind my using specific language, but while it's generally true, especially in writing, it isn't always so.

I don't necessarily consider it a bad habit - I don't get prudish (not to be confused with pedantic, which I do do) over others' language, so being able to take it, why wouldn't I occasionally dish it out as well?

What I do consider bad habits... Biting fingernails. There were a few "professionals" in my youth who thought this insecurity or that inner whatnot - turns out, I just don't like the feeling of freshly-manicured fingers on pretty-much anything, and avoid it by trimming my nails using my teeth. Go figure. In any case, my nails look a bit worse for wear.