News:

When one conveys certain things, particularly of such gravity, should one not then appropriately cite sources, authorities...

Main Menu

where did we go wrong?

Started by billy rubin, April 02, 2022, 04:05:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

billy rubin

all right. im a student of the human condition, i suppose. my beliefs are that history inevitably repeats itself, because human nature inevitably repeats itself. idealism is replaced by distraction, which is is replaced by regretful hindsight.

is this maturity, or complicity?

when i was young i had an odd combination of cultural optimism-- that racism, militarism, oppression, and poverty would be erdicated. it was so obvious that ecological, political, and cultural flaws in human society would be ended. we saw the enemy and knew what to do.

now in later years, i see what every generation has discovered. that nothing changes. the now generation became the me generation. th eoppressed morphed slowly into the oppressors. the business of business continued to foul its own nest, demagogues rose , triumphed, and faded, again and again.

right now, today, th e united states has 30 percent fewer living birds than it did in 1970. i remember when monarch butterflies were common, i would see a dozen a day. now they are en endangered species, as are the ordinary horned lizards i picked up as a child. insects in north america appear to be holding their wn, but are declining precipitously in places in europe.

the first time i remember being awareof world population, we were at 3.5 billion people. now its somewhere north of 7 billion.

what i have observed in the time i have had is that the world is in decline. the belief that it would be turned around has evaporated, at least in me. i see no future in this planet that involves us, in any capacity other than the recurrent dystopian themes than plague our media industry-- grim, violent societies of oppression set against a backdrop of enviromental degradation.