News:

Nitpicky? Hell yes.

Main Menu

A MIRACLE!

Started by technolud, June 19, 2012, 11:22:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

technolud

In this image from Jackson Memorial Hospital where Yasser was treated, the spear is seen penetrating the front and back of the 16-year-old's skull. Keep clicking to learn more about the case that some doctors are calling a miracle...

http://www.cbsnews.com/2300-204_162-10012686.html?tag=page

Crow

Like the person who got shot in the head lost half of their brain and massive chunk of their cranium and still survived.
Retired member.

technolud

A miracle of science if you ask me.

Guardian85

One in a million shot!   :o

That guy should get some lottery tickets while he's at it.....

"If scientist means 'not the dumbest motherfucker in the room,' I guess I'm a scientist, then."
-Unknown Smartass-

technolud

Gage had some problems, but reportedly survived surprisingly well.

Quote from: wikipediaPhineas P. Gage (1823–1860)[n 2] was an American railroad construction foreman now remembered for his improbable[n 3] survival of an accident in which a large iron rod was driven completely through his head, destroying much of his brain's left frontal lobe, and for that injury's reported effects on his personality and behavior – effects so profound that friends saw him as "no longer Gage".

Long called "the American Crowbar Case" – once termed "the case which more than all others is calculated to excite our wonder, impair the value of prognosis, and even to subvert our physiological doctrines"[1] – Phineas Gage influenced 19th-century discussion about the brain, particularly debate on cerebral localization,[2] and was perhaps the first case suggesting that damage to specific regions of the brain might affect personality and behavior.