News:

Nitpicky? Hell yes.

Main Menu

Hello :)

Started by andrea26, August 04, 2012, 12:46:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

andrea26

Hello Happy Atheists,
             This is my first time on the Happy Atheists Forum. I have found myself here for two reasons. First, the reason that drove me to search "atheist forum" in the first place... I don't know many atheists beyond myself and my husband. That being the case I do have a LOT of friends and family who are religious, or at least believers who don't ever go to church. I find it difficult to deal with them sometimes and I feel like I could use a little wisdom from some fellow atheists now and again on dealing with some of the difficult situations that come up. I live in Texas and people around here can be pretty rabidly religious. For a long time my husband and I were pretty much silent to the point of hiding, (I felt) about our lack of belief. We recently decided that this couldn't and shouldn't go on. Of course there are a few who REALLY don't like it. They seem to feel that somehow our not believing is either a threat to their belief or if we say anything that sounds "pro" atheist that we are being rude and it's unnecessary for us to have said anything. All the while they gush about their love of God and the Bible. Most people just don't talk to us about religious issues or mention anything at all and a very small group of people have expressed their support of us believing something different than they do. Like evidence ;)