News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

Hello!

Started by Synapse, July 20, 2012, 04:08:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Synapse

Hi. I'm an atheist and I just stumbled on to this forum. Thought it might be fun to join ...

Never really bought into religion although my parents are moderately religious. I'm a final-year college student right now, a psych major, and my interest lies in cognitive psychology/ neuroscience, hence the name. I realized pretty early that religions (and ghosts and Santa Claus) are basically human fabrications (I loved reading about Egyptian and Greek mythology as a kid, though), so I never had to be convinced that this universe is completely natural and free from supernatural additives. But because of my chosen field, I end up acquiring the evidence in spades anyway.

I also do a lot of scientific research, so it would be surprising that I am quite a skeptical person. Happy, but skeptical.

Anyway, I don't mean to bore you with my introduction. Looking forward to some intelligent exchanges with you guys.

The Magic Pudding

Hello, welcome but can you tone down the anti Santa stuff?
Some of us are trying to keep the better dreams alive.

Recusant

Hello and welcome to HAF, 5yn4p2e. I didn't find your introduction boring at all. Once you complete your final year, are you intending to go into postgraduate studies?

QuoteNotes for new members from Tank:

The Rules.

Users who comply with forum rules will graduate to full membership after 10 posts. Till that time your ability to post is limited to the "Getting to Know You" section of the forum. It is our hope that this small restriction improves the overall atmosphere of HAF.

Some threads you might find interesting.
Where did you get your username from?
10 Things About Yourself
Tell us A Bit About Where You're From
Photography
Non-religious pet peeves
Pets...what do you have?
How to tell your family you are an atheist.*
"Rules for Conducting a Discussion" by Dr. Mortimer J. Adler*