News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

Somewhere in between, with no-one to talk to

Started by dunamandros, February 09, 2016, 09:04:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dunamandros

Hi folks,

I don't know if I'm in the right place registering here, but I thought I'd give it a shot. Until very recently I have been a student at a Reformed seminary studying to become a pastor. This past fall I had begun to rethink becoming a pastor, and more recently have been rethinking a lot more than that. Soon after thanksgiving I had to stop going to school and church due to health reasons. More and more, I'm not sure if I believe in God at all. This isn't the first time in my life that I've leaned away from belief in God, but it's definitely a more complicated this time because of my situation with family and friends. My wife is a devout believer in God, we have a two year (almost three) old daughter, and expect a son to be born this month. Our home life is very devoted to christianity. I'm afraid to talk to my wife about this right now. It would be cruel to drop this on her right before she has a baby. I feel alone not being able to talk to her about this, but she would feel even more alone, (and worse, betrayed) if I brought it up. Most of my family are devout Christians, and all of our friends in the area are, too. I have one brother who I could talk to about this and he would be fine with it, but given time zone differences and my health situation (a neck injury which keeps me from getting out of the house much), it would be extremely difficult to call him privately.

Right now I'm somewhere between christianity and atheism, with no-one to talk to about it. If you've read this far, then thank you for your time. Also, what in the world is the Grayce of Asmo?

Dunamandros

Tank

Hello dunamandros