News:

There is also the shroud of turin, which verifies Jesus in a new way than other evidences.

Main Menu

new forum member

Started by familyfarm, June 19, 2018, 12:45:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

familyfarm

Hello, I've never been on an atheist forum before but have searched over the years. I've been an atheist since very small but raised by a German, strict and devout Catholic. I never really took it seriously though as I loved her. I had questions about everything and really didn't believe it but was confused a long time as anyone when told to stop asking questions. I studied the bible and theism, tried to follow the route especially after a first failed marriage from an abusive alcoholic and then losing my grandmother. Had no other close family and children to raise so I really tried to be very involved in a church for support but it always left me feeling frustrated and feeling really doubtful. I saw it from a more philosophical view but couldn't really stomach the downplay of science, etc.

I left trying with religion and started reading about Buddhism. I read everything I could and believed very much in the Bodhisattva teachings as a way of life. Not to confuse me for Buddhist but I believe in the science of it, the search for more knowledge, respect and questioning, lack of judgement and the outlook even on my life in general and maybe frustration at the past abuse in my life, etc. Not from an emotional view of good and bad but more from a philosophical view and the techniques with meditation.