News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Technocracy

Started by Prometheus, June 28, 2012, 08:47:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Prometheus

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technocracy

Anyone read up on this? I like the idea(I'm a civil engineer, go figure). As an example of potential implications, most government decisions regarding infastructure(Roads bridges etc) would voted on by people with experience and education in that field(Or perhaps their elected representatives) with some means of checks and balances. A high lvl of personal accountability for decision makers would be ideal(Financial disincentives for corruption and lack of reasonable effecincy. Make impeachment much easier by allowing petitions to initiate an all around vote on the matter.).

Seems to me that engineers and real scientists would be a lot harder to snow than your average fox news viewer.

(Edited to correct spelling of thread title.  — Recusant)
"There's a new, secret hazing process where each new member must track down and eliminate an old member before being granted full forum privileges.  10 posts is just a front.  Don't get too comfy, your day will come..."-PC

Ali

So your average "Fox News Viewer" would have no say in the government?

markmcdaniel

Its an interesting idea.
It appears to me (whether rightly or wrongly) that direct arguments against Christianity and theism produce hardly any effect on the public; and freedom of thought is best promoted by the gradual illumination of men's minds which follows from the advance of science - Charles Darwin