News:

The default theme for this site has been updated. For further information, please take a look at the announcement regarding HAF changing its default theme.

Main Menu

Hello!

Started by SisterAgatha, September 23, 2017, 09:53:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SisterAgatha

Hi everyone.

For purposes of this forum my name is Sister Agatha!

I am a sister and teacher at a Catholic grade school/middle school somewhere in the midwest.

Forgive me for saying so, but I was intrigued by atheism and athesits, because at some level I don't really understand them.

Now now. I know Im just a little bit biased being a nun and all, but I almost find it impossible to believe that anyone coudl really live "without God".

God is love. God is smiling at a child's fingerpainting, playing a guitar and singing a lovely song, and quite frankly just being there with for someone when the've had a rotten day, and them being there for you. In my mind God is love itself, and for me living without God would be pretty lonesome!  :-[

I suppose some of the bible stories sound a little wild, but I could never imagine living without Jesus. Honestly when I've had a bad day at school and am ready to jsut call it quits, I say a little prayer to Jesus..and I can't explain it..He always gives me the strength I need to get through the day.

I am so happy you agreed to let me post here, and Im really looking forward to some  productive discussions!

Dave

Greetings Sister Agatha, I hope you find some understanding here.

As a life-long atheist I see your perception of your god as being entirely through one-way rose tinted glasses. If your god truly exists and, as we are told is omniscient, omnipotent etc then it would seem he is just as responsible for rabies, leprosy, syphillus, floods, earthquakes, and do forth, as he is for the beauty that this Earth truly possesses.