The Walking Contradiction explains his screen name and hopes to meet you all

Started by TheWalkingContradiction, July 08, 2012, 07:17:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheWalkingContradiction

Hello, everyone!

How to start...?  Goddess knows I am not good at introductions.  (When I say "goddess," it is to replace "god" and question why a creator deity has to be male.  Or white.  Or even old.   I am an atheist, but since I have to find common ground with theists in my family and at work, I have banished my image of the nasty old man with a long beard and instead imagine Whoopi Goldberg as Guinan in Star Trek: The Next Generation.  This image of a hip mother goddess with dreads and wonderful hats helps me to maintain my poise when listening to godtalk.)   

I may start a war with Trek fans--not a good idea in my first post!--but I have always felt that Troi and Riker should be transferred off the Enterprise so that Guinan could be both ship's counselor and Number One.  And then maybe she could marry Jean-Luc Picard and be a better mother to Wesley (Picard's son, in my opinion) than Bev.  

I may have just gotten myself banned from the board.   ;)   Maybe I can redeem myself...

Guinan is one of my six favorite Trek characters; the others are Leonard McCoy (TOS), Ro Laren (TNG), Gul Dukat (DS9), Kai Winn (DS9), and Kathryn Janeway (VOY).  Who am I?  A cross between Hoshi (ENT) and Tom Paris (VOY)--with liberal amounts of Monica from Friends thrown in.  

Some quick stats...

Spirituality: Atheist since 2004, but was agnostic more than a decade earlier.  Still healing from Christian Fundamentalist abuse.  

Sexual Identity: Gay Male

Sexually out of the closet: August 1, 1988

First Kiss: February 18, 1990, age 24 and a half.  (Yes, I was still a virgin then.  It was hard to break from what Christianity said about gay men even after I came out.)  

Native Language: Northeast American English

Also speak: French and Italian