News:

In case of downtime/other tech emergencies, you can relatively quickly get in touch with Asmodean Prime by email.

Main Menu

Science Teacher Joining

Started by Waski_the_Squirrel, November 08, 2015, 05:10:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Waski_the_Squirrel

Hi! Hopefully this doesn't bore anyone, but this is a thumbnail sketch of how I ended up on this forum.

I'm joining a bit late in life. I'm a science teacher. My degree is in Physics, but I teach in a rural school, so I've taught everything from grades 7-12 in science. Because of graduate coursework, I also teach math courses from grades 7-12. This year, I have no math, but I teach Physics, Chemistry, freshman Physical Science, and Anatomy.

The life sciences have never been my thing, but this is the first year I haven't taught Biology.

I grew up in a very fundamentalist church. I refused to continue attending at age 13, but mostly because I didn't get along with the other kids. I swallowed a lot of the rest of it (except the literal 7 day and 6000 year stuff) hook, line, and sinker.

I attended a Christian College (Grove City College) which taught actual science rather than superstition. Hopefully that is still the case. So, it was in college that I figured out that Christians could agree with evolution. That was a big relief for me from my childhood programming, though it turned out I still had a long way to go. I even had a revelation in my 20s that I thought was from God. (I'll have to talk about that some time if I feel like this forum is a good place to be.)

I coasted through my twenties and thirties as a Christian. I accepted the science and the religion. I even became treasurer at my church a few years ago and started filling the pulpit when the pastor wasn't there.