News:

When one conveys certain things, particularly of such gravity, should one not then appropriately cite sources, authorities...

Main Menu

Don't laugh!

Started by Tank, June 03, 2010, 09:15:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tank

When my kids were around 10 and 12 I started playing Dungeons and Dragons with them. It is a fantastic game to let kids learn and experiment with morality in the safety of a family environment and where I could guide the kids into and out of difficult moral dilemmas. If your not familiar with the game one particular aspect is brilliant. You have to play an 'alignment' from Lawful Good to Chaotic Evil. Now you can't just choose an alignment and then behave in another way, if you do the Dungeon Master (me) can manipulate the story line to show the player the effect of their 'out of character, behaviour. We played some campaigns for days. They loved it, I loved it and they had no idea I was shaping their morality and world view  :D
If religions were TV channels atheism is turning the TV off.
"Religion is a culture of faith; science is a culture of doubt." ― Richard P. Feynman
'It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it's called Life.' - Terry Pratchett
Remember, your inability to grasp science is not a valid argument against it.

pinkocommie

I love D&D too!  My son has already shown interest in playing, I'm just waiting for his attention span to develop a bit more before playing with him.  :D
Ubi dubium ibi libertas: Where there is doubt, there is freedom.
http://alliedatheistalliance.blogspot.com/

Squid

I played D&D for nearly 20 years...1st all the way up through 3.5 edition...haven't played in a long while though.

KDbeads

D&D was banned in the schools and public places where I grew up, and since I was never allowed to visit anyone.... I've never played it  :blush: