News:

If you have any trouble logging in, please contact admins via email. tankathaf *at* gmail.com or
recusantathaf *at* gmail.com

Main Menu

Questions for Christians

Started by MikeyV, July 13, 2006, 06:20:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeyV

Although this thread is for everyone, I'm really interested in the christian take on these questions. If you have other good questions you'd like answered, please post them.

Introduction: I was a serious student of the bible. I have a minor in theology from Wayland Baptist University. I really did study this book quite hard. I will post my story in Mommasquid's thread a little later.

One thing I've found maddening is the sheer impossibility of debating scripture with a christian. The stock answers to any errors you find in scripture run along the lines of:

• "My sect doesn't believe that!"
  • "That's allegory!"
  • "Since you are an atheist, you cannot be infused with the Holy Spirit, therefore, you can never understand it!"
  • "You aren't putting it in context of the time that it was written!"
  • "Unless you are fluent in biblical Hebrew and Koine Greek, you can't say for certain that that is what it REALLY says!"
  • etc...ad infinitum...ad nauseam

So, I have decided to look at their morality instead. On to the questions.

• Say you have two sons, one is a fantastic farmer, and the other is a great shepherd. Both of your sons love you very much, and give you the fruits of their labor. The farmer brings to you the best that his fields have to offer, while the other son brings you the best sheep from his herd. Do you:

• Thank both of your sons for their wonderful gifts, and let them know how proud you are of them.
    • Tell the shepherd that his gift just isn't good enough.
    • Tell the farmer that his gift just isn't good enough.