News:

Departing the Vacuousness

Main Menu

Shipbreaking!

Started by Waski_the_Squirrel, November 30, 2015, 05:22:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Waski_the_Squirrel

I don't think I mentioned it in my introductory post, but novel writing is important to me. I'm on the third draft of novel #10. Don't worry: I'm a horrible writer. That's why you've never heard of me. Nevertheless, even the worst among us improves. Novel #10 is showing surprising potential. It may still be terrible, but it is night and day better than what I've attempted before.

Novel #10 is about shipbreaking. Now, it is science fiction, so my version is about breaking spaceships. Nevertheless, the poverty, the lack of worker protection, the lack of modern technology, and the tale of the rich taking advantage of the poor are part of my novel.

It's a dangerous world. My hero was severely injured at age 9. He was working in the yards as a porter.

He sustained horrific burns, shattered bones, and spinal damage. By age 37 (when the novel starts) he walks only with the aid of leg braces and crutches. Without them, he can barely shuffle. This is not a utopian future.

He was actually abandoned to die after his accident. He is the product of his mother trying to escape her horrible life and falling into prostitution. His stepfather took his mother back, but did not accept him. After the accident, he was abandoned to die horribly and alone. According to the dominant religion of the planet, he was cursed because he was illegitimate, though the locals use a harsher word.