News:

if there were no need for 'engineers from the quantum plenum' then we should not have any unanswered scientific questions.

Main Menu

A somewhat-brief summary of Holly, an atheist with OCD

Started by hollyda, April 07, 2011, 01:42:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hollyda

Hello, everyone.

I'm not typically good at these introduction posts, but I do want to get things off on the right foot.

I'm a 26-year old author and editor, who answers phones and performs data entry to pay the bills. I graduated from Missouri State University in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in religious studies. Until meeting my fiancé, I identified as an agnostic.

I grew up in an odd marriage of secular liberalism and religious indoctrination. My grandfather is a bible-thumping Church of Christ minister. My mother has never been fundamental and enjoyed an on-again-off-again relationship with church. As a single mother, she often couldn't manage a working schedule and looking after me and my younger brother, so we ended up staying with my grandparents more often than not. This resulted in weekly Wednesday night services, Sunday services, and Sunday evening services. My mother could never claim to be an atheist, and still has trouble with the fact I labeled myself as such, but she has always leaned independent-liberal in her ideology, yet likewise never bothered to put a disclaimer on what I learned in the Church of Christ.

For those of you unfamiliar with the Church of Christ, they are an extremely conservative congregation, of the persuasion that not only will non-believers go to Hell, but indeed all congregations that are not Church of Christ, Christian or not. This never made sense to me, and I remember arguing vehemently with my very uncomfortable grandmother that it made little difference where and how church was conducted. Now, more enlightened CoC congregations might be of a different mindset, but the one in which I grew up subscribed to that belief.