News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

An analogy for god

Started by Moosader, October 14, 2008, 07:26:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Moosader

A while back, I felt a bit obligated to try to come up with a way to conceptualize how a god would exist, if they were to.
I don't know how many people are computer science types, but I came up with this pretty basic idea:

I am a programmer and I create software.  However, I am not software, and I exist outside the realm of software.  I can create my own concept of time in a software game or simulation that I am independent of.  I create everything from scratch (well, everything I didn't inherit from a library someone else wrote), and my creations do not evolve outside of the way I have set for them.

I thought it was a pretty good analogy for describing how a god could exist.  I still consider myself Atheist, though, as I feel like the idea of an "all-powerful human" creator seems silly. (When I hear "God" I always think of a human, or other conscious "living being")
Make lunch, not war!

Jolly Sapper

wazzz

I totally understand u i'm studying Computer Science seconded year -in fact i wanna attend System Analysis even though i'm a party animal  not nerdy type (btw why all who works in our field are so lame and nerdy  :D  :D
I totally understand u the power u have but if think that u are saying hey guys this leads to the exists of god is true i don't but that's how i saw it  :P
int main()
{
cout<<"Hello World ";
return 0;
}

LARA