News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

Godel's Ontological Argument

Started by iplaw, July 24, 2006, 03:59:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iplaw

This is my first thread...my very own, how special.  This is an interesting argument that I discovered a couple of years ago.  This argument is a refined version of St. Anselm's ontological argument.  For those who don't know who Godel is, there is a brief bio of him on the first page.  

Godel's Ontological Argument

Revenant

Disclaimer: I have no background in philosophy, and my grasp of logic is merely that as required by someone with a couple of decades of computer programming experience. As such, modal logic of the sort employed here is new to me. I'm also new here so be nice!

I haven't got as far as Gödel's argument yet, but it was interesting looking at Hartshorne's ontological argument.

One of the things I noticed was in the modal axiom M1, which states that "If A is possible, then A is not necessarily false."

The immediate thought that struck me was that the converse is also true: If A is possible, then A is not necessarily true either. Or to put it another way, if A is possible, then not-A is also possible; therefore, not-A is not necessarily false.

However, this rather obvious corollary appears to have been excluded from the axiom set and the subsequent argument. It doesn't become clear why until you get to H9 and H10 of the formal argument itself, which state:

H1. God possibly exists.
H2. If god exists, then god exists necessarily.
H9. Either God necessarily exists, or God necessarily does not exist.
H10. (From M1 and H1: It is possible for God to exist.) It is not necessary for God not to exist. (Or,) The proposition that God necessarily does not exist, is false. (Thus negating the second part of H9.)
H11. Therefore, God necessarily exists. (From H9 and H10.)