News:

Unnecessarily argumentative

Main Menu

I guess I should do one of these...

Started by iplaw, August 18, 2006, 02:40:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iplaw

Allow myself to introduce...myself...

I realized the other day that I have never posted an intro.  I wasn't sure if I was going to stick around in the beginning, but since I have been here more than a month I guess it's time.

I'm Iplaw, and by the name I guess you can surmise from that I am a Patent and Trademark attorney, and I worked for several years as a Mechanical Engineer with Boeing and Nordam.  I live in Tulsa, OK, the home of the mega church, where the only thing that rivals churches for their number are crappy bars.

I am an unabashed theist of the christian variety.  My interests include: my wife and family, my friends, my guitars, wakeboarding, running, a good Ashton cigar with an unfiltered German Heffe beer, and reading.

Big Mac

Hey I have a question. How hard is it to patent something and what's the most you think a person can win in a trademark/patent infringement case?
Quote from: "PoopShoot"And what if pigs shit candy?

joeactor

Hello iplaw!

Pleased to meet you.

My wife is a hotel and real estate lawyer, so a bit of common ground there.

Which "christian variety" are you?

Just curious...

iplaw

Joe:

I bear no denomination or affiliation with any sect...

Big Mac:

Depends on the invention, and unlimited, most verdicts in patent/TM cases are in the hundreds of millions.

Big Mac

Hmmm....what's your cut on this angle?

iplaw

Depends on if it's billable hours (usually defense counsel) or 40% contingency (usually plaintiff's counsel).

Most of my work is not litigation but patent prosecution which is billed either on a per project basis or by the hour.  By the hour is preferred.

Big Mac

I'm sure, you wanna drag it out as long as you can. Maybe we can talk......I'm sure we can find something to make us both retire early. Bwahahahahahaha!

MommaSquid